McNair Scholars Program News

Main Content

McNair Scholars Program - Where Greatness is Achieved

Alumni Highlights 

Congratulations, 2016-2017 graduates! From Southern Illinois University Carbondale: Danette Abernathy, Norris Akpan, Rudy Bacette, Bryce Corbett, Yahaira Heller, Jordan Holman, Trevor Keen, Emily Peterson, Jorden Thomas, and Naomi Tolbert.

We also extend our congratulations to the six new graduates who are entering graduate school in fall 2017. The degrees they seek, departments and institutions are:

          Danette Abernathy: Ph.D. at Wichita State University

          Rudy Bacette: M. Ed. at University of Central Florida

          Yahaira Heller: MPA at Southern Illinois University Carbondale

          Trevor Keen: MS at University of Tennessee

          Emily Peterson: ECIC at University of California, Berkeley

          Naomi Tolbert: CIR at University of Chicago

SRI Highlights: Orientation Week

Orientation McNair        Orientation McNair

Orientation McNair        Orientation McNair

Orientation week was filled with strategies to help introduce the 2018 SRI participants to 8-week intensive research program. Some of those strategies included public speaking, team building exercises, and networking. We would like to thank Dr. Laxmi Sagwan, Mandy King, Phil Howze, Jordee Justice, Cristina Castillo, Michelle Garrett, Emily Vajjala, Rebecca Gonnering, Dr. Gauri Pitale, and Touch of Nature for presenting throughout the weeklong introduction.

SRI Hightlights: Ropes Course

McNair Ropes Course        McNair Roes Course

                                                                                                   Itzel Mendoza

McNair Ropes Course        McNair Ropes Course

Francis Gatimu                                                                          Brittan Cobb

 SRI Highlights: Scavenger Hunt 2018

McNair Amazing Race        McNair Amazing Race

                                                                                                  Hamza Ajeena, Aaron Caldwell,
                                                                                                  Nathaniel Jordan, Erin Boester

McNair Amazing Race        McNair Amazing Race

Yasmin Ibrahim, Itzel Mendoza,                                                Brittan Cobb and Alexis Lane
Francis Gatimu, Tori Rhone                                                   

SRI Symposium 2018

The 15th Annual McNair Summer Research Symposium (SRI) was held July 20, 2018 from 10a.m. - 2p.m. on the first floor of Morris Library in the John C. Guyon Auditorium. The symposium was the final event of the Summer Research Institute (SRI). SRI participants presented their research projects from the 8-week intensive research program.

                           McNair Symposium
                            First Row: Brittan Cobb, Aaron Caldwell, Alexis Lane, Tori Rhone
                            Second Row: Kennedy Byers, Nathaniel Jordan, Yasmin Ibrahim, Francis Gatimu,
                            Erin Boester, Itzel Mendoza, Alexus Rusk, Hamza Ajeena

McNair Symposium     McNair Symposium
Aaron Caldwell presenting to Dr. James Garvey                    Alexus Rusk    

McNair Symposium      McNair Symposium          
Francis Gatimu                                                                         Itzel Mendoza

                                            McNair Symposium
                                     STEM Awards: 1st Place Nathaniel Jordan, 2nd Place Yasmin Ibrahim
                                     Social Science Awards: 1st Place Francis Gatimu, 2nd Place Erin Boester


15th Annual McNair Summer Research Symposium
Friday, July 20, 2018

Download the flyer and a list of the presenters